X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rabbiteye vs. Southern High Bush Pros and Cons

Currently I am only growing Rabbiteye varieties but I am thinking of adding some SHB's. I've done a little reading but need some more educated or experienced growers to offer their thoughts. Here is what I can say about the RE's:
    1. Long lived
    2. Disease free
    3. Don't require much training (mostly upright growing)
    4. Native pollinators take care of everything
    5. Acclimated to my Winters
    6. Seem to produce well
    7. Don't require much to satisfy their PH needs (I just use Acid Lovers fertilizer)
    8. Easy to feed (again just use Acid lovers fertilizer)
    9. Easy pruning (just remove four year old wood at ground level)

I am no expert and maybe I could double my yields if I did things differently. I only have about fifty plants but I don't sell any. If I have too many (how can that happen when they freeze so well) I'll just give some away.

So how do the SHB compare in my listed categories. Feel free to add categories like Taste, Seediness and Size.
    Darkman AKA Charles in Pensacola South of I-10 zone 8b/9a

Great topic. I was wandering tge same thing. I only have 15 rabbit eye. (Never thought I'd say that). With all the good points you listed I just can't run out and buy the SHB. And that's saying something because I have no problem buying anything else with a leaf.
    Pine Prairie, LA 8B

Comment