X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• propagating blueberry bushes

I have some high bush blueberry bushes next to my driveway that need to be trimmed back. Is it possible to propagate new bushes from these trimmings?

I've propagated figs from cuttings before but not blueberries and I just wanted to know if it is worth trying. Thanks.
    Kevin (Eastern MA - Zone 5b/6a)

Kevin:

I'm no expert but haven't heard much success rooting dormant, hardwood blueberry cuttings. Mostly it's softwood cuttings in a mist bed. Even then the pros have trouble rooting some varieties like the new Indigocrisp. I failed with my few attempts. Not nearly as easy as figs or grapes.
    Alpine, Texas 4500ft elevation Zone 7
    http://growingfruit.org/

Comment

http://www.ehow.com/how_4888669_prop...ueberries.html
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sI_GXqVlty0
      http://www.extension.org/pages/29211...n#.VOY5Yi4YG7Q

You can do both hardwood and softwood cuttings, air laying, and plant division (digging the plant up and cutting the root ball)
      Art
      St Louis County, MO Z6B

Comment

I've not done hardwood cuttings, but have successfully divided older plants. Not all make that feasible however.

About 5 years ago I took about 100 softwood cuttings. I do not have a misting table, but put them in a high humidity situation and monitored them closely. I got about 50% to root, which I thought under those circumstances to be very good. Some varieties do root much more easily, and others don't.

Right now I have a small number of air layers going. Since my blueberries (all southern highbush) have leaves year round, I figured layering was worth a try ... in winter. About a month ago, I checked two of them. One had rooted, and the other had nice callose tissue formed. The moss was still moist so I'll leave them on till after fruiting (time to prune anyway), then remove them.

SoCal, zone 10.
        www.ourfigs.com Invite your friends.

Comment