X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New BB grower zone 6b

I'm new to growing BB and would like some recommendations on picking a few varieties. I'm looking for some bushes that's cold hardy to zone 6b, good tasting, and productive. I live in eastern Kentucky and was wondering where would be the best place to buy these BB bushes. Would it be best to plant in the fall and let the roots get set in good or wait until spring so they have time to grow and get set before winter. How far do you plant these apart form eachother. Thanks
    Kentucky Zone 6b

One of the northern folks has to have a recommendation?
    Cutting sales start Nov 1 at 9PM eastern time as always at willsfigs.com

Comment

I don't live up north Erick, but from all the reading I've done it seems waiting until spring will take all the guesswork out. If you fertilize and water correctly, the plants will grow fast anyway. Concerning spacing, if you are looking for hedges, then 3 feet spacing works. Otherwise, 6 feet is good. Some plants grow upright and some don't so take that into consideration.

Here is a link that may help you further. You can find specifics for your zone:
      Houston, TX Zone 9a

Comment

One breeder of NHB likes Cara's Choice.

I think the real question is NHB or SHB. I'd try Sweetcrisp for home use just because it's the clear quality standard for all blueberries.
        Alpine, Texas 4500ft elevation Zone 7
        http://growingfruit.org/

Comment

I've had good success with Northern High Bush cultivars, http://www.fallcreeknursery.com/gard...thern_highbush and 2 Southern High Bush cultivars, O'neal and Misty, http://www.fallcreeknursery.com/gard...thern_highbush This blueberry ripening Chart lists many of the more readily available NHB cultivars, http://www.fallcreeknursery.com/asse...Chart-2013.jpg

I've spaced my Northern High Bush 4' apart and planted the Southern High Bush in pots that remain outside in winter, http://www.fallcreeknursery.com/gard...gardeners_tips