X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First ripe Hative D'Argenteuil fig

This is a second year tree in a four gallon pot. This is my first year experiencing berry type figs. I grew up with Celest type figs. A very intense berry flavor. To me it was like a sweet strawberry. The skin was soft. A very delicious treat! I wish it was a larger fig! This is one of the main reasons I'm growing multiple varieties of figs. I've never grown berry flavor figs before. I'll probably end up air layering the bottom branch. This one got away from me.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	hative_de_argentuiel003 (1 of 1).jpg
Views:	297
Size:	294.2 KB
ID:	1015884 Click image for larger version

Name:	hative_de_argentuiel001 (1 of 1).jpg
Views:	254
Size:	108.9 KB
ID:	1015885 Click image for larger version

Name:	hative_de_argentuiel002 (1 of 1).jpg
Views:	251
Size:	115.0 KB
ID:	1015886 Click image for larger version

Name:	hative_de_argentuiel005 (1 of 1).jpg
Views:	253
Size:	220.5 KB
ID:	1015887 Click image for larger version

Name:	hative_de_argentuiel004 (1 of 1).jpg
Views:	259
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	1015888
    Zone 8B Lockhart, Texas - WL- Thermalito, I258, Del San Jaume Gran, White Madeira #1, Noire De Barbentane, Paratjal Rimada, Bordissot Negra Rimada & Robert's Golden Rainbow

Good stuff and I prefer the berry figs. I have an HdA that's in year 3 and has a few figs. It's been a very slow grower for me but hopefully some of the figs will ripen.
    Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania / Zone 6b

Comment

• artsjustforgrowing
      artsjustforgrowing commented
      Editing a comment
      Cool, you'll enjoy the berry flavor!

• BlueEagle1967
      BlueEagle1967 commented
      Editing a comment