X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Florida Fig growers, what are your most dependable varieties??

Hey all! I'm just getting started with some plants coming in the mail soon, really want to hear y'all's opinions on the most dependable and delicious varieties in the deep south! I imagine anything that ripens in the spring or fall will do much better than those that ripen mid summer here, not exactly sure what our seasons are like though in terms of when things break "dormancy" (here in soflo they probably never go fully dormant). Anyways, have at it y'all! Thanks!

So far my collection will include :
    Green ischia
    VDB
    LSU O'Rourke
    LSu Scotts black
    LSU tiger
    And I've been searching for an affordable smith fig aswell, as I've heard wonderful things.
    Last edited by [email protected]; 07-28-2021, 06:46 AM.

More information would help us to help you...like, where in Florida are you at (south FL is a much different animal than NE Florida or the panhandle for example)? Are you planning on growing in-ground or in pots?

I have been growing in Champa Bay for quite a few years now and have learned a lot about growing figs in our challenging conditions. Biggest headwinds IMO are the root knot nematodes if you are growing in-ground and the rainy season/humidity. Nematodes can make what is an otherwise vigorous/productive plant for others and turn it into a stagnant and sickly plant.