X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts on an 8' LSU Purple with two branches?

Hi Everyone,

I've been browsing the forum for a few months now and after some thought, decided to purchase an LSU Purple tree from a reputable vendor (FastGrowingTrees.com). I selected their "5-6 foot" size, with the hope of getting at least a few figs this year, albeit not the tastiest. The tree arrived yesterday and I wasn't expecting this. I've attached some pics to this post for reference.

The tree that arrived is a little over 8 feet tall, with two small 10-12" branches about 4 feet up, and no other branches until the top of the tree where there are six large leaves near the shoot apex. The branches that grew out from the trunk in the past have all been removed, and the top 1/3rd of the tree is bent where it is taller than the bamboo stake and has no support.

My plan is to plant the tree into a well-draining pot and leave it outside in my backyard for the summer in the middle of Washington, DC (near the National Cathedral) , but I'm not exactly sure where I should go from there. I'm not planning to prune anything back right now or anytime in the near future. Any suggestions at all would be greatly appreciated.

I'm not sure why nearly all the branches were cut on this tree and the tree allowed to get so tall, other than for the purpose of being sold at a higher price for its height and branches removed for ease of shipping.

If you have any questions, I'd be more than happy to answer them!

Thanks in advance,
    Connor

Click image for larger version

Name:	LSU Purple 1.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	281.2 KB
ID:	1022802

Name:	LSU Purple 2.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	371.9 KB
ID:	1022800

Name:	LSU Purple 3.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	355.3 KB
ID:	1022799

Name:	LSU Purple 4.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	260.8 KB
ID:	1022801

Name:	LSU Purple 5.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	836.6 KB
ID:	1022803
    Attached Files

Welcome,

That is just, wow!