X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yolo Bypass 2021

This is my first year getting Yolo fruit that seems likely to be close to what a mature tree will produce. Mine is a grafted one (Adriatic JH root stock) in it's third year of leafing.

I picked my first ripe one Aug 3, it was a whopper close to 100 grams and very impressive. Flavor is kind of a strawberry-berry-honey-figgy combination and very enjoyable. I've picked only 3 figs as of this writing, and others were closer to 50 gram range but still very tasty. Mine were probably caprified.

Yolo is looking like a strong competitor for my very limited keepers list. Please post your impressions of Yolo in your location.

Click image for larger version

Name:	yolo.JPG
Views:	746
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	1030019
    Conrad, SoCal zone 10
    Wish List: More Land

Looks like a beauty. Can't wait for my 1st year cutting to grow up.
    Tony; Pickens county, SC zone 7b

Care for the Earth...there's no place like home

Comment

Great looking fig!
      Istvan - Southern California - Zone 10b
      Wishlist: CdD Mutante, GM 175, Bordissot Negra Rimada

Comment

You mentioned that yours were probably caprified. Do you really know if the Yolo Bypass is a common fig or not? I'm growing one here in Cincinnati, but it's too young to tell at this point.

Comment

I have heard it is just ok uncaprified. Haven't gotten one myself yet.

Comment

• cjccmc
          cjccmc commented
          Editing a comment
          Hopefully we'll start getting some reports from people growing it outside of wasp territory. It was discovered in summer of 2017, so trees are at most on their fourth year of leaf which is still young and probably short of full potential.

Wow!
        Piney Point Village, Zone 8b
        W/L- Allix, Cateto

Comment

Looks great! I'm waiting for mine to ripen this year (will be 2nd year getting figs). The tree is being a bit stingy with production so I won't have that many, and a few dropped already