X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Failing Graft Help Needed

I purchased a grafted NSDC this last Spring for a pretty penny, but it hasn’t grown well and is looking to me like the graft is failing. I have zero grafting experience, so I’m not sure what to do about it. I think it’s a chip bud graft. I noticed a couple of months ago that it looked like it was drying out at the edges, so I wrapped some parafilm around it, (which is now breaking off from weather exposure, originally it was wrapped properly.) But it seemed to continue to dry out and has now detached at the top and is detaching all around the edges from what I can tell. I don’t think this is a good thing so I’m coming to you guys for help.

The stem is only about 4 inches long, can it be airlayered off that short?? Can anything be done to save it or is it okay as is?

It was hard to show the extent it has detached in the pictures, but hopefully they help give you an idea.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Click image for larger version  Name:	85E22B2B-5768-4498-AE04-D8A0D9726B6F.jpeg Views:	26 Size:	419.9 KB ID:	1036845
    Click image for larger version  Name:	063888A3-9BFF-4CF4-8D86-0328D26E78AB.jpeg Views:	27 Size:	321.6 KB ID:	1036844
    Click image for larger version  Name:	55EA56A7-B657-48F8-BFBC-BCE8AEBB0435.jpeg Views:	26 Size:	536.7 KB ID:	1036846
    Last edited by RosyPosy; 08-19-2021, 08:31 PM.
    ░░░SoCal░ ░ ͡ i ͡ ░ ░Zone░ ░9A░░░

Here are some more pictures with the top bit of parafilm removed:

Click image for larger version

Name:	B557E60F-CBE9-4484-9A7E-79766C151897.jpeg
Views:	142
Size:	334.3 KB
ID:	1036855

Name:	D45016F8-9C8E-4F72-BB49-EBB3CC4C617A.jpeg
Views:	135
Size:	385.9 KB
ID:	1036856

Name:	48598F81-E140-43E5-8EC4-A5C51F31B4E7.jpeg
Views:	134
Size:	387.9 KB
ID:	1036857

Comment