X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dehydrated fruit

We finally got enough figs at one time to try dehydrating one tray. I hope we can enjoy these once the fresh ones are gone. I think they're mostly Florea, Brown turkey, Alexandria red unk, and Celeste. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210821_205217529.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	397.1 KB
ID:	1038724
    Tony; Pickens county, SC zone 7b

Care for the Earth...there's no place like home

I've never had dried figs before. When it's complete, could you share what the inner texture is like?
    7b/8a WL: Honey Plum, Negra d'Agde, Nixon Peace, Pound, TX Peach, any CdD, I-258, LSU varieties, Ronde de Bordeaux, Hunt, heirlooms and their stories other: World's Best Mulberry

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210822_155456939.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	291.1 KB
ID:	1038762 I'm brand new at this too so I hope someone with dehydrating experience will help out. These were dried for about 7 hours and have a slightly sticky, pliable consistency. They smell like a baggie of brown sugar.
      Tony; Pickens county, SC zone 7b

Care for the Earth...there's no place like home

Comment

• Tridrama
        Tridrama commented
        Editing a comment
        Interesting description. I see you are right up the road from me! I'm in Fairfield County.

• Otis
        Otis commented
        Editing a comment
        Cool, Hi neighbor!

I have been doing it for awhile. I prefer to dry them whole. I like them rather dry and half’s dry too small. I put them stem down and squish them down a touch. Not to much just about half the diameter.

Comment

• ZomVee
        ZomVee commented
        Editing a comment
        How long do you dehydrate them?

Do they taste the same as store bought dried figs?
      I bought a bag the other day, the figs were soft. But I didn't like the taste.
      C.Florida 9B WL: I-258 , Black Ischia, Ham Rham, Ghoudane , Moro de Caneva

Comment

• ginamcd
        ginamcd commented