X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My First ripe fig!

I rooted my first cutting in November 2020 and this is my first year growing figs... I actually had not eaten a fig in years but remember the taste from when I was a kid

Long story short, I have around 15 fig trees at various stages of development! 2 are Dave Wilson trees, most of them are from rooting cuttings, a few air layers I am using as rootstock and 4 trees gifted to me by adipose .

This one is my first truly ripe fig.

I collected some fruit earlier from different tree but it wasn't any good (unripe or fallen breba, etc...)

The tree is called La houd, it was described as a "green libanese fig from bass" but the skin is not green so this might be something else. In any case the fruit was delicious and pushes me to grow and collect more fig varieties The addiction is on!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210826_104700.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	778.3 KB
ID:	1043038 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210826_104735.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	582.4 KB
ID:	1043039

I have been able to root cuttings and grow healthy ​​​​​​​trees thanks to all the help from this community, so thanks again!
    -- Zone 10a
    Documenting my fig addiction here

Congratulations!
    May it be a first of many!
    Almaguin Highlands, Canada. Zone 4a/3b. WL: Ronde de Bordeaux, Florea, Hollier, Dauphine, Gisotta nero, Verdolino, Malta Black, Violet Sepor .Any early finishers would help, just starting out, not picky. Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication~Da Vinci

Comment

That looks tasty!
      those speckles are cool
      Round Rock, TX 8b
      WL: Delicious figs

Comment

Nice, the first one is great but just the first first. I had 3 new figs for me today, Improved Celeste O'Rourke Not (AKA ICON), a ripe Little Miss Figgy and a LSU Scott's Black. I started 7 years ago. So hopefully you too will have new figs every year for a while!

Comment

That's great!