X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miami/South Florida Fig-growers

Hello all, I'm glad to have found this forum, and I'm learning a lot about fig growing. Most of the "personalities" posting Youtube videos on figs seem to be located in PA, NY, WA, CA areas. I am wondering if any seasoned growers are located in the south Florida area (I'm in Miami specifically, 10b), and can provide some input as to what grows best here, or what they've had success with growing. I am just starting out and trying to figure out what I should be targeting for the next season. I tried searching for past threads, but I didn't find anything in the initial few pages. I apologize if I missed an old thread, if someone can point me to an existing one talking about this growing area, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you in advance!

Dorian
    -Dorian Miami, FL, Zone 10b
    Wanted (Smith, Improved Celeste, HC/Mt. Etna, Bourjasotte Grise, Negra D’Agde, etc.)

Welcome to the forum!
    In that zone just about any fig you want will do well. Splitting may be an issue depending on humidity. But you should be able to ripen everything.

You have some great company down there.
    Round Rock, TX 8b - Free - No mask here!
    See profile for current varietal list
    WL:de la Senyora Hiverneca, São Luis, De la Caseta, Cosme Manyo

Comment

Welcome. Enjoy the friendships, fig talk and all the sexy ripened fig photos. There's a guy down you way that'll probably be in touch with you sometime soon, if I know anything about him.Cheers.
      Tony; Pickens county, SC zone 7b
      WL: Dr Clark heirloom, GM Maltese varieties, Nordland
      Care for the Earth...there's no place like home

Comment

Welcome Dorian,