X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Up potted a few cuttings today

So, this is my first year rooting cuttings. I've tried a few different methods, made some mistakes, lost a few and finally think I'm closing in on figuring it out. I up potted 7 young trees today and moved them to my in garage ghetto greenhouse, here's hoping that it's not to soon and not to much of change.

I also moved a few more cuttings from the moss box to the humidity bin today, like an assembly line if you plan it all out. Wills, the Nero 600M it the first of the cutting I got from you to root. Several others are showing signs of pushing roots in the next few to several days, thanks again!

Scott
    Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft

“Though the problems of the world are increasingly complex, the solutions remain embarrassingly simple.” – Bill Mollison

Nice, be prepared to be humbled if you havent been already! My first season rooting fig cuttings was almost a total failure. Did you keep some cuttings in the fridge for a second and third attempt if some of the ones you started fail? That was a hard lesson learned for me! Congrats on the success, keep it up!
    Rob

Comment

Rob,

I planned to keep additional rounds of cuttings in the fridge in the event of failure.... I however didn't. ...... due to the nature of my job. If I had not of shattered my foot, I would not be home layed up and able to root these cuttings. And I may not have another opportunity to start cuttings for years. So I did what I had to and I'll just have to live with what I get. If i get one of each cultivar, that's all i ask, more then that I'm inflicting friends and family, if i have some cultivars that all fail.... that's how it goes.

So here's to beginners luck.
      Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft