X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aloha from Maui

Aloha, Thank you for adding me to your forum. My name is Mary and I live in Kihei Maui. I have been growing figs for about 10+ years. I grew up in the Bay Area in California and moved to Pahoa on the Big Island in 2002. I purchased from Plant It Hawaii a Brown Turkey and a Kadota. I picked up a small Black Jack from Ace or somewhere else. Birds and rodents often ate the fruit before I could taste any ripe delicious fruit. I lived on the rainy side of the island that received about 120" of rain a year, and that got old. When I moved to Maui in 2008 I took cuttings from the larger trees and dug up The Black Jack to take it with me. Kihei is in South Maui and it on the leeward side of the island (the side that does not get the trade wind showers/most of the rain). I see about 12" of rain a year. The temperature here is really great for growing with highs in the summer of about 89 degrees and 80 in the winter. Lows are in the 70's in summer with 60's in the winter. The native soil is sandy/clay that repels moisture. I use a lot of compost in my fig garden. In ground trees are watered with drip emitters and the pots are hand watered or sit in saucers. After I was able to root those cuttings I started to get serious about figs. I grew in pots until 2015 when I cleared space to make an in-ground fig garden. My first cuttings and baby trees came off eBay. Now I get cuttings from Figaholics. This week I did my first trade. I really learned a lot from these forums and joined so that I can participate and share what I have learned. I lurked for the longest time on the Figs for Fun Forum and joined not long before it was no more.​​​​​​​

Welcome! Sounds like you have a great climate for growing figs!
    Ed
    SW PA zone 6a
    Wish list: no SWD

Comment

• KiheiFigLover
      KiheiFigLover commented
      Editing a comment