X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excel 2015 Main

This is a three year old tree in a 10 gal pot and its my first time to taste tis
    delicious fig. To me this is a good example of one of those varieties that you
    don't hear a lot of talk about but it turns out to be a gem. This tree gets a
    maximum of five ours of direct sun a day from about 9am to 2pm.

Its taste is a delicious honey flavor, a very jammy texture and no seed crunch.
    We have tasted many light colored figs and my wife, two grand kids and myself
    all rated it very high on our lists. I will give it a 9 and maybe even higher as
    the season progresses.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4266.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	28825

Name:	IMG_4264.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	28826

Name:	IMG_4271.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	28827

newnandawg 7b Newnan, GA

That's great to know, especially about how little sun it gets. Have been very much looking forward to my Excel rooted cuttings maturing.

I have some Mt Etna bushes coming along with their fruit in that limited amount of sun but no other variety, I think, though I've yet to try Improved Celeste and Ronde de Bordeaux within such limits, and hope they might also do well in the future.
    Tony WV 6b
    https://mountainfigs.net/

Comment

Thanks for sharing, got me curious. Might have to see if I can track that one down and add it to my collection.
      Randall - Gulf Breeze, FL. zone 8b. Wish list: Anything that "newnandawg" - Mike, ranks as an 8 out 10 or higher.

Comment

Very nice and early! I've got a decent crop formed on mine that I'm looking forward to.

Randall, I'll probably have some cuttings available in the winter.
        https://www.figbid.com/Listing/Browse?Seller=Kelby
        SE PA
        Zone 6

Comment

• Whiterk
          Whiterk commented
          Editing a comment
          That's very generous of you. Thank you

• Kelby
          Kelby commented
          Editing a comment