X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Painful removal question.

I have been growing a Black Greek I get from the Funny Man for few month now. Started off strong and even has 3 large green fig on it. But with the hail damage , fertburn , mites, bugs pretty much has been threw hell... It looks like it may drop one or two of the larger beat up leafs and is trying to push out couple new leaf. But just been a bud now. All growth stopped. As much as it will hurt me to do it should I remove the figs to let energy focus in leaf? Or no matter? Figs about golf ball size. 7 leaf 3 big fig. Only stand about 1 ft tail.
    You may only view thumbnails in this gallery. This gallery has 1 photos.
    Zone 5 Chicago IL Wish list:
    1) Rest peacfully Amico Bello Buddy 👼🏼.
    2) This weeks ebay auctions.

I'm not an expert Mike but I think those figs are sapping the energy of the plant. For such a small plant that is a lot of resources it is investing in those figs.
    Last year, my first in rooting cuttings, I left a max of one fig on my biggest cuttings, and a couple were decent. I would have taken two of those off when they were little. At this point, maybe the plant has already put much of the energy into those, not that much more to go. I would absolutely not take off all of them, would at least leave one to try for fun. But I am sure that others have differing opinions.
    Ed
    SW PA zone 6a

Comment

Personally, I would remove them with the health of the plant being more important to me than the figs. There will always be more next year.
      Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft

“Though the problems of the world are increasingly complex, the solutions remain embarrassingly simple.” – Bill Mollison

Comment