X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fungus gnat death by nematode

Was reading an article in Greenhouse Management magazine this Spring or Summer that mentioned the work of some younger folks in that industry and saw a mention that a Dr. Allison Justice had done a lot of work with beneficial nematodes while at Clemson University.
    The article also mentioned that she sold Starter Kits for breeding your own beneficial nematodes.
    Here is part of what she wrote to me when I requested more info :

" I've been researching entomopathogenic nematodes for about 4 years now. I've developed a system for growers to rear their own nematodes inside wax worms. This is opposed to buying millions of dehydrated/dormant/not very active nematodes that are produced synthetically more or less similar to how beer is fermented. It is a more natural way of producing nematodes and in addition they are more infective (ready to eat) when they are applied. Thus far I've been working with growers who use them mainly for fungus gnat larvae in propagation. I provide a mixture of 4 species of nematodes that not only attack fungus gnat larvae but also thrips and shore fly. I've recently acquired even more species and specifically one, Heterorhabditis marelatus, has shown to be very aggressive against slugs/snails. The link is a publication from UF if you would like to read about nematodes in general http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/...c_nematode.htm. The species I currently have are: H. indica, H. bacteriophora, S. feltiae, S. carpocapsae, Steinernema glaseri, and Heterorhabditis marelatus. As you can see they attack a high diversity of pests but since my specialty is in greenhouse crops those pests are in which I've focused. I am able to provide the kits or just nematodes in a media. Usually the kits are for growers who need to produce a lot. If they just need a little it makes more sense to just order nematodes themselves."