X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ciao Italiano's where are you from and now?

I see quite a few Italian people up here. I am new to site but I am curious to ask if you're from Italy and where you live now. My father was at a market in Michigan last year and literally bumped into his childhood friend from 65 years ago never seeing him in between. It is funny because this market had a fig that has only been known To grown in the mountains of Calabria Italy. It amazes me that this fruit can bring two cuginos together after all that time and recognize each other as old men. They both grew up in southern Calabria mountain town called Sorbo San Basile and I have many family in Taverna CZ. So now we are in Plainfield Illinois with small fig tree farm but go back to Italia yearly. The figs there grow wild like pine trees here. So where are you from and where are you now?
    Zone 5 Chicago IL Wish list:
    1) Rest peacfully Amico Bello Buddy 👼🏼.
    2) This weeks ebay auctions.

CZ is for Catanzaro? My ancestors were from Leonforte, Sicily and Ancona, Marche. In New York now.
    Rafael
    Zone 7b, Queens, New York

Comment

Hi Taverna, welcome to the forum.

I was born in the US and live in California. My father was born and raised in Pordenone, just north of Venice. I've had the pleasure of visiting Italy a number of times, but unfortunately before I had fig fever.

You say you have a small fig farm in Illinois... can you give us a photo tour some time?
      SoCal, zone 10.
      www.ourfigs.com Invite your friends.

Comment

Hi Taverna
        I'm from Fabrizia south of Catanzaro born there now living in Brampton Ontario Canada
        nice to meet another Paisano
        Happy Figging

Comment

Ciao a tutti! My family came from Corfinio, a small village in the mountains of Abruzzo. Everybody has a fig tree there!
          USDA Zone 9b Wish list: Abruzzi, Pasquale, Filacciano, Tagliacozzo, Zingarella, Godfather. Any, including unknowns, from Abruzzo, Italy.