X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unknown Abington 2015

This is an unknown from Philadelphia that was distributed in the spring of 2014 by a member of the 'other forum' as rescue cuttings from a tree that was being cut down. I have not seen any one else post on this one. The leaf looks like somewhat like a Mt Etna type, but I am not experienced enough to state that with certainty. It is way ahead of my few "Mt Etna types" like Hardy Chicago, Sal's (EL), Bryant Dark and Dominick's fig (although not all of those are being grown the same, all started the fig shuffle at the same time in April and all are young plants). It was sweet, tasty, with 'figgy' flavor. This is my second main crop fig this year, picked this AM, one day after my Lattarulla. It is growing in a 4g SIP, with about a dozen more figs on the plant. Pics of leaf and fig below.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	abington leaf cropped.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	237.8 KB
ID:	34708

Name:	abington cut.JPG
Views:	112
Size:	116.1 KB
ID:	34709

Name:	abington uncut.JPG
Views:	117
Size:	117.1 KB
ID:	34707
    Last edited by eboone; 08-14-2015, 08:51 AM.
    Ed
    SW PA zone 6a

Thanks for sharing the photos and info...
    I don't have this cultivar, but from the photos it looks similar to the Etna Types.

The Etna Types are mostly Mid Season main crop varieties. There are only a few Etna Type cultivars that consistently produce early main crop figs. Good Luck
    Pete R - Hudson Valley, NY - zone 5b

Comment

Looks good! My wife was born in Abington.
      https://www.figbid.com/Listing/Browse?Seller=Kelby
      SE PA
      Zone 6

Comment

A couple pics of the next 2 figs of this one picked this AM. This fig plant, like many of mine, had a few brebas on it that dropped off in May during the fig shuffle when the plant was exposed to 38 degrees and I failed to get them back in the garage.