X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: THIEVES! Security system suggestions, please.

Spent a good part of the day driving across the state for a work trip this week. Got a text from a home that someone stole the two best gourds from our vines in the back yard.

Needless to say, I'm pissed. If someone will come up to my house, walk around back and steal my gourds, they'll certainly steal my figs and anything else not nailed down.

I'm thinking about setting up wireless security cameras to record 24/7...maybe motion activated...to see just who comes onto the property when no one is home. i have ZERO experience with these things so I'm asking for advice.

Suggestions?
    Bryant...Franklin County, VA...Zone 7a. Wish List: a 32 hour day....more sleep

Some one stole out my truck last winter so we set up a 4 camera system. My wife ordered it from Lowe', it called Q-see, it comes with a dvr and can be set to record when motion activated. We can watch it live from our smart phones when we not home and it's fairly easy to set up.
    Ryan- CenLa, zone 8a/b

Comment

I can't stand a theif!
      Ryan- CenLa, zone 8a/b

Comment

I hate to hear that, Bryant. My first solution is 4 dobermans.
        Something like this can be configured into your wireless home network and you can monitor it from anywhere.
        http://www.amazon.com/Foscam-FI8905W.../dp/B003YUEF0E

I used old smartphones for home security. I keep one in the garage, mainly to see if I remembered to shut the garage door after leaving the house. But this is a quick solution that you can stick in a window sill for now. There are apps made just for this which will allow you to view from your activated smartphone (or tablet) anywhere you have service or wifi. Super handy! I hope that's the last of the thieves, but why take chances.
        Frank ~ zone 7a VA

Comment