X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howdy

Hello everyone!

My name is Jose and I am new to fig growing. I found this forum through multiple google searches trying to find a grassroots type of site to discuss and learn. I found lots of sites that seemed commercial which I didn't want to bother with.

I was introduced to this by my father in law recently. He gave me 3 unidentified cuttings earlier this year which are potted and doing well. I would like to acquire more varieties in the future and grow more figs. I live north of Baltimore in Glen Arm, Maryland. I am hoping to learn enough to identify the figs I have, cut from a tree in Middle River Md, and start figs on my own from cuttings. I have been reading the FAQ section the past couple of days. Lots of great info there. This is a really great resource. I'll have to send my FIL a link since he is an avid grower.

JMS

Jose in Glen Arm, Maryland.... Zone 7a

welcome, and good growing
    Hi my name is Art. I buy fig cuttings-so I can grow more figs-so I can sell more figs-so I can buy more fig cuttings-so I can grow more figs....

Comment

Welcome to the forum. Just be careful, it's addictive.
      Nothing in the world takes the place of growing citrus till figs come along. Ray City, Ga. Zone 8 b.

Comment

Welcome to the forum.
        Don - OH Zone 6a Wish list: Zaffiro, Moro de Caneva, Nerucciolo d'Elba, Bordissot Blanca Negra, Rubado

Comment

Jose welcome to the forum!
          newnandawg 7b Newnan, GA

Comment

Welcome, Jose. Are you planning to grow your figs in ground or in pots?
            Ed
            SW PA zone 6a

Comment

welcome, soon enough you'll have more varieties that you can count.

I stopped counting at 20.
              Kevin (Eastern MA - Zone 5b/6a)

Comment

Eboone, right now I'm growing in large pots but I do plan on transferring some to the ground. Probably next year some time. I want take some cuttings first in case i screw up and kill one. I'm in planting zone 7a.

Comment