X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intro...finally

So I figured it was time to introduce myself. My name is Art. I am a recycle truck driver with about 1500 households per day. I have been growing cactus and succulents since 1969. A few that I have, I have pictures of from the 1970's. My father-in-law got me interested in figs by growing a large (300+ pounds including pot) Italian Honey fig tree in a pot at his house. In 2011, my older son bought me a Chicago Hardy fig tree for father's day. It grew like a weed the first year and even produced figs, but they didn't ripen. In 2012, my father-in-law pasted, and I inherited his tree. That's when the addiction started. My wife and I spent the late summer/early fall that year eating about 6 figs a day from that tree. We started wondering what else was out there for figs,so I started searching for info, and came across some forums, and fig people on facebook. At this point I have 29 varieties in some form of growth. Plants in the ground, plants in pots, and cuttings starting to root. I try to stick with varieties that are more cold tolerant, but then someone will say a new type is the best ever, and I have to bring out more pots. The only good thing about my job, is I haven't had to pay for any pots or shipping boxes.
    Hi my name is Art. I buy fig cuttings-so I can grow more figs-so I can sell more figs-so I can buy more fig cuttings-so I can grow more figs....

Hi Art, welcome to the forum.
    Dave- Waterford, Ct. Zone 6a

Comment

Do you have the 428 in your mach 1?
      Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft

“Though the problems of the world are increasingly complex, the solutions remain embarrassingly simple.” – Bill Mollison

Comment

• cjmach1973
        cjmach1973 commented
        Editing a comment
        351 cleavlamd, 4 bolt mains, toploader 4 speed, 4 bbl holley on an edelbrock manifold, then the kids came

• COGardener
        COGardener commented