X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dormancy Questions

Hi guys...

Have some questions on dormancy. I'm a complete newbie so I apologize if this has been discussed before. I reviewed the FAQ area and didn't see anything on it.

Question is... Is dormancy required?

I just moved and my new house has a greenhouse and an unheated south facing enclosed patio. Both are averaging about 15 degrees warmer than the outside lows. The enclosed patio stays a bit warmer since it faces south, the greenhouse does not. This is my first winter there so I am not sure if this average will get better or worse in the actual cold. Is it possible for my figs to never go dormant if I move them to the patio? If so is it a bad thing? I already moved my figs inside the patio cause I don't know any better. None of them are showing any signs of growing dormant. The coldest its been in there has been high 50s so far.

My other question is if dormancy is required how stable does my storage temperature have to be? In the sun both the greenhouse and patio get really warm. Sometimes in the 80s. There may be a 30-40 degree temperature swing in there; sunny day vs night. I do have a basement that will stay in the low 50s maybe high 40s but I don't know if that is still too warm for winter storage.

Edit: Forgot to mention that I have 3 potted plants of unkown variety and my growing zone is 7a.

Thanks again
    Jose
    Jose in Glen Arm, Maryland.... Zone 7a

If or when they go dormant, the big temp swings are probably not good. Some warm spell in the winter they could start to wake up and then get frosted when the temps drop again. If they wake up early you would do well to keep the temp above freezing with a heater.

I have heard different opinions on whether they need dormancy. I know some growers have kept figs going in a heated greenhouse all winter successfully. I don't have experience.
    Ed
    SW PA zone 6a

Comment