X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are your definite keepers and/or best of 2015

Hi all,

This idea comes from m5allen in Gina's 'What are you going to do different next year?' topic.

As a relative newbie, I'd like to hear what people's definite keepers are and/or best of 2015.

This was the first year for many of my figs so I really don't have a list other than my heirloom Hardy Chicago which seems to do well every year no matter how much or little attention in give it.

Some first year figs that were promising were Conadria, Italian Honey and Desert King.

I'm looking forward to next year for a whole bunch of 2nd year trees like RDB, Scott's Black, MBVS, Nero 600M, Adriatic JH, Vasilika Sika and others I can't remember right now.

thanks.
    Kevin (Eastern MA - Zone 5b/6a)

My best overall fig of the year (productivity, flavor, etc) was Lattarula. Good sized and tasty breba crop in July and long main crop season that's still going of large tasty fruit.
    https://www.figbid.com/Listing/Browse?Seller=Kelby
    SE PA
    Zone 6

Comment

• fitzski
      fitzski commented
      Editing a comment
      my italian honey was really good this year once I figured what a ripe one looked like.

All my trees are young so everyone gets at least another year or two regardless of how they performed. My definite keepers that produced precocious delicious figs were RdB, VdB, Nero 600m, Strawberry Verte, Panache, and Panache-not (Raintree sent me a strawberry-type fig, great figs even if not Panache). Flanders produced a mix of good and bad figs this year. Almost everything else produced figs but I'm waiting on them. Some seem like they'll ripen before the cold weather starts but others seem a little confused fruiting late in the season and probably won't ripen this year.