X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Question About Dormancy

Hi Everyone.
    I'm really new to figs, and this past April I finally bought my first two trees from Bass (Makedonia Dark and Italian Bronze). After that initial purchase, I kind of went out of control and bought a ton of cuttings online. So my question is this:

Can I let the plants that I started from cuttings go dormant, or are they too young?

Here are a few details.

-Cuttings were started on June 24th.
    -Rooted, then moved to plastic cups.
    -Transferred to 1 gallon trade pots on August 7th.

I poked around a bunch online for the answer before I made this post, but I'm still not sure. I might just be paranoid.

Thanks for your time, and I apologize if this has been answered before and I missed it.

I forgot to mention I'm located in zone 6... Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania

Comment

It is possible to let them go dormant. It depends on how cold they will get in winter storage. I had a few summer started cuttings I overwintered in my garage, and they came back just fine in the spring. I had mine potted in 2-gallon pots, strung some Christmas lights around my trees, covered them with a tarp, and I had a space heater to keep my trees above freezing through the bitter cold stretches. I probably over-engineered my protection as I'm prone to do. I think others have overwintered 1-gallon trees in their garages with less protection.
      Johnny
      Stuff I grow: Google Doc

Comment

Thank you for the response. I really appreciate it. I was planning on keeping them in my unheated basement which never goes below 32 degrees... I just wasn't sure if it was ok because the wood was still super green and young.

Comment