X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Hi. I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Casey. I am a new member and novice fig grower, with a small collection of young trees. I am looking forward to participating in your group.

Welcome Casey,
    I feel you will really like it here. I hope you have some more room for figs..
    Kentucky Zone 6b

Comment

Thank you. I made a large order of cuttings from the germplasm repository this year. So far, my rooting success rate hasn't been the best. I have been using the paper towel method.

Comment

You can look up a lot of information here using the search bar. Then if you can not find what your looking for then just ask. There are a lot of pros here that can help you. I have a lot to learn myself.. Lol
        Kentucky Zone 6b

Comment

Welcome aboard!
          https://www.figbid.com/Listing/Browse?Seller=Kelby
          SE PA
          Zone 6

Comment

Thank you both.

Comment

I personally love coco coir. You can pick it up at the pet store as a solid brick, and you rehydrate with water. You want it damp, but not soaked. I had pretty much 100% success rate in getting cuttings to root once I switched over to that method (had used sphagnum moss before that, which worked okay, as well as rooting directly in perlite, which didn't work for me at all). Just get a tupperware box and fill it up with the stuff. Fluff it up a bunch and bury the cuttings.

If you choose to go this route, the brick-o-coir sucks to rehydrate. Its easy if you just let it soak up a ton of water, but you don't want it too wet, so you end up getting it damp, then breaking it apart with your hands. My hands always hurt like devil when I'm done with it, but it works great.
              Last edited by brettjm; 10-29-2015, 05:46 AM. Reason: details
              Brett in Athens, GA zone 7b/8a

Comment

Welcome to the forum.
                Nothing in the world takes the place of growing citrus till figs come along. Ray City, Ga. Zone 8 b.