X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello Everyone, I'm new to the site and to Fig Growing

Hello all. My name is Edward and I live in Central Florida along the east cost (zone 9). I am a Nurse by profession but have been out of work for the last 5 years due to Major Depression and a couple other mental health issues; which physically prevent me from leaving my house the majority of time. The doctors say gardening will help me deal with leaving the house (even if it is the back yard) and increase my communicating with others, so here I am. I currently have a Brown Turkey plant I bought from a fellow disabled vet, and a handful of cuttings from an unknown fig tree a neighbor was throwing away. All are growing, so I am happy. I have ordered a few fig cuttings from some growers and look forward to getting them. I am not used to asking for help from anyone for anything, but if any here have a few extra cuttings (common or uncommon varieties), I would not say no; just pm me. Do not feel angry if it takes me a couple days to respond, it is an issue with my depression. I look forward to learning from all and I am sure I will be asking a lot of beginner's questions. Thanks.
    Edward - Edgewater, Florida (Zone 9b)
    Wish List: Holy Smokes, U. Prosciutto, Ham Rham, Labritja

Welcome! Thank you for your service.

I'm a newbie at figs, too,so no cutting available this year. Lots of knowledgable folks here. Looking forward to getting to know you.
    Bryant...Franklin County, VA...Zone 7a. Wish List: a 32 hour day....more sleep

Comment

Wecome Edward!
      Ed
      SW PA zone 6a

Comment

Hello Edward,

Welcome to our figs forum community.
        Pete R - Hudson Valley, NY - zone 5b

Comment

Hello Edward, Welcome to the forum.
          PPP
          Eatonton, GA zone 7b/8a

Comment

hello and welcome.
            Kevin (Eastern MA - Zone 5b/6a)

Comment

Welcome!
              Zone 7a Galloway, NJ

Comment

Hello Edward and welcome.