X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible?? Maybe with your help I can do this..

Hello Fig Friends,

As some of you may know, I'm really new to figs but this "dreaded fig disease" has really got me good.. Even though I've yet to even taste a ripe fresh fig, my fascination with this fruit began many years ago with my now 96 y/o grandmother who shared stories with me about how her father brought their fig tree to their new home in Newark, NJ from Salerno, Italy. She smiled & laughed about how she & her 13 siblings would feast on the delicious fruits their special tree gave them every summer and fall for many years. I never tired of hearing her tell these great stories & I told her one day I would grow a fig tree for her again..

Fast forward to present, although thank God we still have my gram with us, she has developed dementia over the last 5 years. After a series of falls, (the last one broke bones in her face) last year my parents, aunts, & uncles reluctantly decided it was time that she needed around the clock care & she was moved into a nursing home about 7 miles from my home. I visit her weekly (she never forgets who I am thank goodness), but I often find her staring out the window looking at "the beautiful trees". This sparks her memory of her most favorite tree, and she will excitedly tell me the stories again that I mentioned earlier..