X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why would a new bud no want to open?

I have couple new trees I purchase or get in trade that either came with or produced tip buds just past a leaf. They have no opens in couple weeks where I have another tree that had couple damage leaf and couple leaf with fig rust on them so I pulled them all off and with in2 week there's new buds and leafs all over that tree now. Are these stubborn buds just being stubborn? One trees stubborn buds look like it was ganna open but now look like is browning. I have no over watered and is under great lights and warm humid environment. Is there a way to help buds open?
    Zone 5 Chicago IL Wish list:
    1) Rest peacfully Amico Bello Buddy ๐Ÿ‘ผ๐Ÿผ.
    2) This weeks ebay auctions.

My first thought was patience....but I'm a newbie, so take it for what it's worth.
    Bryant...Franklin County, VA...Zone 7a. Wish List: a 32 hour day....more sleep

Comment

Could be in a growth lull, not quite dormant. Patience and fertilizer should do it.
      https://www.figbid.com/Listing/Browse?Seller=Kelby
      SE PA
      Zone 6

Comment

If the plants were in the process of going dormant before you got them, their metabolism has slowed down and may take a long time to ramp up.
        Last winter I tried to keep my small Preto going at a window all season. It did not lose any leaves but did not gain any until spring and stronger sunshine.
        Ed
        SW PA zone 6a

Comment

Yup, what others say. Plants are sensitive to number of daylight hours and position of sun as well as temp. Seems they just know when not to put on new growth. If not in growing mode water carefully.
          Jerry, Canyon Lake TX 8b

Comment