X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How are your cuttings doing?

This is my first year trying propagation of any kind, so this is all new to me. Surprisingly, some of the cuttings doing the best for me are freebies that were included in trades: LSU Tiger, Brown Turkey, Jurupa, and Smith. My own Marseilles is doing reeeeally well and I can't wait to share them with my friends and family!

My thicker cuttings are definitely doing better, but it might be because it's so dry in our house, even with a humidifier near the plant shelves.
    Zone 7a in Virginia

I am start tomorrow to get out of SM and into cups already. Fastest for me so far is kadota's. Big thick cutting has massive roots on them already.
    Zone 5 Chicago IL Wish list:
    1) Rest peacfully Amico Bello Buddy πŸ‘ΌπŸΌ.
    2) This weeks ebay auctions.

Comment

• SarinaP
      SarinaP commented
      Editing a comment
      Nice!

• Jamie0507
      Jamie0507 commented
      Editing a comment
      Awesome Mike! Do you like the SM better than coir? I know you mentioned using coir too, so I'm just curious which one you feel fico likes the best?!

• Taverna78
      Taverna78 commented
      Editing a comment
      Ciao Jamie,

I have only use SM. If is soaked for 24 hour first at least and squeeze out very VERY well and you don't apply too much heat you will never have a problem. It stay perfect moisture and humidity for weeks. Also is very sterile and gnats will no get to cuttings. I am no familiar with anything beside SM.

I also must add I did 50/50 on cuttings CloneX and dip n grow hormones. So far the dip n [email protected] is working much faster but also my cutting wrap in parafilm so tis time roots no form all over the cutting.

Hi Sarina Sounds like your cuttings are doing really well, that's great! What method are you using now out of curiosity? Love to hear what works/doesn't work for other members of the forum and always appreciate the sharing of knowledge & experience