X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you group your fig trees?

I’ve been thinking about how I’m going to group my potted trees this spring when they come out of storage.

Should a group them by type i.e. Etna types, LSU and so on. Or do I group them by fruit color, age, or source?

Do those of you whom plant their figs in ground do this or just put them in the order they were received?

Thoughts?
    Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft

“Though the problems of the world are increasingly complex, the solutions remain embarrassingly simple.” – Bill Mollison

Thank you for asking this question. As a newbie, I have no idea if there is a benefit to groupings like this. Eventually, I will have as many of my trees as possible in ground....so hope to have this figured out by then.
    Bryant...Franklin County, VA...Zone 7a. Wish List: a 32 hour day....more sleep

Comment

My fig trees group themselves - the snooty pedigreed ones off on one side, the LSU figs talkin' Cajun on the other with the unknowns left in the middle. Hey, at least in my fig world the ones from the Middle East and the French figs get along fine...
      Ed
      SW PA zone 6a

Comment

• COGardener
        COGardener commented
        Editing a comment
        Well, Ed.... you made me laugh. That is an interesting way to approach it.

I put my best tasting potted figs in prime locations where they get the most sun and protection from the wind.
      While the second class trees get the next spot and so on.
      Trees planted in ground were put in as I got them but not in the right order. There is one particular tree that needs to be taken out and a better tasting more hardy type planted in its place. Another tree was planted in a swampy spot and has been struggling the past 5 years and needs to be moved to a drier area. Needless to say I will be doing some in ground fig shuffling come Spring.
      Wishlist; Green Michurinska, St. Rita
      Tony