X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trade: My premier stone fruit trees for figs

I'm relatively new to figs but have been pursing the worlds best stone fruit since 1971. The best I've found by far if properly grown are the Honey series, yellow-fleshed, low-acid nectarines from Zaiger's breeding program and sold by Dave Wilson Nursery. My experiences comparing these to other fruits has been published here:

http://www.davewilson.com/home-garde...-in-west-texas

These can be purchased from DWN but the minimum order is 150 trees total and bundles of 10 by variety. To my knowledge they can't be purchased elsewhere.

I have excess trees of Honey May, Honey Lite, Honey Fire, Honey Blaze, Honey Royale, and Honey Diva on two rootstocks, standard Lovell and a dwarf that increases fruit brix. The dwarf would be especially good in pots.

DWN yellow flesh nectarines info here: http://www.davewilson.com/product-in...low-nectarines

I'd trade these for equally rare or high quality fig cultivars, cuttings or plants.

Also on both roots: Polar Light, Arctic Sweet, Pearl Time and Arctic Snow white flesh nectarines. My best peach Valley Sweet and my latest peach Sweet September.
    Last edited by fruitnut; 12-15-2015, 01:17 PM.
    Alpine, Texas 4500ft elevation Zone 7
    http://growingfruit.org/

I wish I know how well those varieties did in the NE with our rain and pests and diseases. My first nectarine tree is hopefully going to give some ripe fruit this year, the few it had last year got really deformed, I think from stink bugs eating the skin, then the fruit later dropped
    Ed
    SW PA zone 6a

Comment

I have seen pictures of the fruit and the refractometer......they are too die for. If they would grow here I would jump on it.
      Cutting sales start Nov 1 at 9PM eastern time as always at willsfigs.com

Comment

What are the zone ratings and chill requirements?
        Scott - Colorado Springs, CO - Zone 4/5 (Depending on the year) - Elevation 6266ft