X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ponte Tresa auction on Ebay, my introduction

I am maimai2 , a new member of this forum

After winning the 3 Ponte Tresa cuttings on Ebay, I was overwhelmed by the criticism and many poor judgment made by several people in the fig society worldwide . Was I paranoid about it ? Not at all . Truth be told, I never regret to have paid $541.00 for those 3 sticks of wood. I still think that I got a very good deal , because I was ready to pay at least $872.50 or more, if needed .

13 hours before the auction ended, I predicted on a Viet forum (in HCM city) that this auction would end up more than $1,000.00 . I said that I might step in at the very last minute ....

I have watched the listing since it first appeared on Ebay and I fell in love with it . Why ? As I have explained in another topic, love at first sight is hard to explain. I am an artist and I always follow my intuition; but most importantly, I trust the seller whom I have heard may compliments (about him) through some fig forums . I would bid with confidence that this item would not be a fake one .
    On the last day of the auction, when there were 7 minutes and 1 second left, I stepped in. Placed the bid at $628.50 but NOT confirmed it . Reason ? If I confirmed it, the price would fly high, out of control .

At 4 minutes 8 seconds left, I changed the max to $ 872.50, but still NOT confirmed it .

At 2 minutes 54 seconds left, the auction went up to $244.06, I was still holding my bid

At 6 seconds left. auction raised to $510.00 . Here I came with max $872.50 . Of course, Harvey held the second place (he admitted it in F4F) because there was no time left for other bidders to go higher

I WON . Does it worth $541.00 ? Definitely YES

----------------------------------------------------------------------------