X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbe question - continuous harvest figs?

I am pretty new to figs, have one fig variety (Improved Celeste) that has been in ground for the past 3 years, and 9 more varieties growing stronger in pots before I choose the next few to go in ground. I have a question. My Improved Celeste starts ripening figs in June or July and keeps on making them until frost. Love that so much! Unlike my peach tree with it’s one big harvest, or my persimmon tree with one harvest, it seems unique in the continuous ripening of fruit throughout the summer and early fall. So when people say a fig has an “early” harvest, does that mean that it starts producing early in the year and continues production until frost, or does it typically mean that there is one crop of figs that ripped early (like peaches or persimmons) and then the tree is completely done for the year? I like the continuous harvest of my Improved Celeste tree and would like to pick more varieties with this characteristic, but don’t know if this is normal for figs or something special about Improved Celeste. Thanks for taking the time with a newbe question, I have so little experience with figs, I just don’t know the answer. Some of the other figs I am trialing here are:
    LSU Gold
    LSU Purple
    LSU Scott’s Black
    Col De Dama Blanc
    VdB
    Bourjassotte Gris
    JH Adriatic
    MBVS
    Hardy Chicago
    Are any of these going to give a continuous harvest like Improved Celeste?

best,
    Candice
    fort worth, Texas. 8a
    Wishlist:Violette de Sollies, CdDN, RdB, Petite Negri, Franks Salerno, Florea, LSU tiger, Longue d’aout, black jack, marseilles white, Brooklyn white.