X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parafilm difference question

I have been talk to few people about my recent issue using parafilm. As beneficial as it is my first time to use it I am now weary. I buy 1/2 in wide off eBay I attach photo. But i wrap each cutting tightly and overlap each wrap securely. Then I put in mix with 1/2 film on cutting under soil. So far only few cuttings make it. The rest look like the get strangled out by film and shrivel skinny to the point the film is actually now very loose on cutting and cutting die. Question is is thickness/wideness make of film have any effect like tis or was it just me killing cutting or bad luck? I.e. I get kadota cuttings. All rooted perfect! Cutting diameter was thick marker. After wrapping. Rooting and in cup. The cutting shrivel to #2 pencil and die. Any idea?
    Attached Files
    Zone 5 Chicago IL Wish list:
    1) Rest peacfully Amico Bello Buddy πŸ‘ΌπŸΌ.
    2) This weeks ebay auctions.

Fabio - that is the same size and product that i am trying out. I got that recommendation from someone on the F4F board a while back and took their recommendation. The parafilm is supposed to be streched over the cutting and not be overlapped near the nodes, so it doesnt prevent the buds to break through. It should retain moisture well and shouldnt cause any rot for the cutting though.

The only thing im starting to notice on some of my cuttings, is root bumps under the parafilm from any residual moisture in the cutting. That and the film is cracking at points, so unsure why thats happening.

You shouldnt need parafilm in your greenhouse, i thought your ambient humidity is above 60% in there. If it is, you dont need parafilm, they shouldnt dessicate with that humidity. Thats my thoughts, but i could be wrong
    May the Figs be with you!
    ​​​​​

Comment

• BrooklynMatty
      BrooklynMatty commented
      Editing a comment