X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keeping Good Fig Records for 2016

I'm an accountant, so naturally keeping detailed/accurate records is what I do. In my signature, you'll see the spreadsheet I've created. So far I've got 3 categories... bud break, breba & main dates.

My question... what are some other important things you guys wish you kept track of throughout the growing season?

-Ross
    Zone 7A - Philadelphia
    Flavor Profiles & Variety List / Facebook / YouTube / Blog

I added a column for zone since I'm doing a combination of in-ground and potted. As a researcher, that seems to be one of the main variables I'd alter if I didn't get my desired results. I'm also finding that there are conflicting zone recommendations out there so I need to see for myself if things will really be okay outdoors with winter cover.
    Zone 7a in Virginia

Comment

Some possibilities:

Hardiness/zone, flavor description/rating, productivity (how many fruit), tree age/birth date, fruit and leaf pictures, where you got the cuttings/plant, Additional comments.
      Don - OH Zone 6a Wish list: Zaffiro, Moro de Caneva, Nerucciolo d'Elba, Bordissot Blanca Negra, Rubado

Comment

Openness of the ostiole is a big one.

Maybe do a rating system from 1 - 10 regarding things like rain tolerance and splitting resistance.

Figs varieties can be categorized based on their "character" or "type." For instance, there are the "Blackberry", "Honey", and "Adriatic" types to name a few. But some people have different ideas of what those types are and how varieties fall into those categories. It might be good to research that a bit and see what you think. I recognize that these categories may have loose borders and there might not be a simple classification for some cultivars.