X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My rooting method

I've posted this over my blog too, but I wanted to share how I've been rooting this winter.

Some people start cuttings in baggies with damp paper towels or sphagnum moss. Some start them in pure perlite or coco coir. Some people use humidity bins kept at certain temperatures. Some people use cloners. There is every combination of every medium and process.

Here's my problem with those methods: I'm lazy and cheap. I want the shortest number of steps and fewest inputs needed to get decent results. If I already have the ingredients, even better. This is my 2nd winter rooting, so when reading know that I'm far from an expert. This is just what works for me, and I'll admit it doesn't always work. I'd estimate somewhere around 50-75% success, but I'll discuss failures at the end.

The basics that you need:
    -Cuttings
    -Pots
    -Potting soil (good quality, not Miracle Gro)
    -Grafting Tape
    -Labels

I use potting mix blended by the company I work for. It's designed for annuals and bedding plants, very light. A seed starting mix should be comparable. I usually add a small amount of GardenTone or PlantTone to a bucketful for a little bit of fertilizer and for fungal inoculation. I've experimented with adding more perlite, pine fines, or other items to the mix. I can't say I've noticed any real differences. I think there is extra perlite and pines fines in this bucket.
    I'm finding it's best to cut the bottom to just below a node for best rooting. Today I have some Adriatic JH cuttings sent from a generous friend.

Cuttings are then wrapped in grafting tape to about 1" below where the potting mix will be. This is to prevent dessication of the cuttings. If you've never used grafting tape before, it takes a little practice to get it stretched correctly. One layer should be fine, leaves will push right through that.